Back to Basics

As a psychotherapist, I have the privilege of joining with people for a part of their journey of creating a life. In the current global economic climate, many of the people I meet with are experiencing serious financial losses and the resulting anxiety about the future. In fact, some of our worries have somehow become real problems instead of irrational fears. 

We have, as a nation, faced serious challenges recently which have forced us to rethink our priorities. Listening to the stories of the people trapped in the towers during nine eleven was one example. The stories told of the many many people who called the people they loved just to tell them one more time how much they loved them. 

Again we find ourselves challenged to rethink how we are living our lives and how we are expending our energies. The economic bubble of the 1990’s was in certain ways intoxicating. It became possible to imagine ever larger goals, especially in the material sense. We could have bigger houses, better cars, and more toys and vacations. It began to seem like we deserve to have whatever we want. 

As the stresses of the deflation of that bubble percolate downward through the structures of our world, we are faced with genuine losses. Sometimes unmanageable losses, such as homes or education. As I listen to people struggling with the changes in their lives and the choices they are forced to make, I am struck once again by the fundamental decency of human nature. Each time there is a protest: “I shouldn’t have to deal with this!” There is a bargaining: “Maybe I can somehow prevent myself from experiencing this loss.” There is defeat: “I give up. I’m just a failure.” But after all, there is a kind of gratitude: “Well, we have each other.” It is almost as if we needed a reminder of that important gift.

About norasblog

I am a psychotherapist with a private practice in downtown Chicago.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to Basics

  1. ejo says:

    Good morning. I just wanted to tell you that I stumbled upon your blog recently and I have enjoyed your posts immensely. These things that you speak of are so true. I doubt there is anyone who has taken some time to contemplate the world around us and their own lives that would not agree with many of the things you say. Funny though that the world at large (and I am generalizing here but accurately so I think) is so unaware that one of the benefits of therapy is to enable one to truly get to know oneself. A pity since so many of us are so desperate for just that. At any rate I just wanted to let you know that there are people out here who are enjoying the fruits of your labor.

  2. norasblog says:

    Thank you so much for your comment and for reading my blog. It’s nice to know someone is enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

